Reasons to Live: Post #1

I want to try this exercise, in which I list reasons I have to continue in this life, instead of submitting to pain and giving up entirely. I hope that, through reading my reasons, you can begin a similar habit. Writing your reasons down may be a more concrete way to preserve them, but even just making a habit of remembering mental notes of reasons is great. As long as you have reasons, there is a life still to be lived. Without further ado, here are the first of my reasons.

  1. I want to see how a pair of Oxford heels will look with my future wedding dress.
  2. I want to walk across the stage and symbolically graduate from university life.
  3. I want to see our kitten, Chance, grow up.
  4. I want to see more of the United States—more than just travelling over the CA/NV state border can give me.
  5. I want to do one of those swabย tests in order to find out the extent of my ancestry.
  6. I want to see one of my friends from middle school marry the love of his life.
  7. There will never be aย ย limit on the amount of San Jose Sharks games I want to go to.
  8. There is always “one more book” I want to read, when I already have three or four awaiting my attention.
  9. I feel like I have yet to reach my full potential as a force for good in the world, and I really want to figure out what that ends up being.
  10. I want to sing the song “Can’t Help Falling In Love” for other people to see what they think.

 

I think I’m going to try committing to ten reasons per post. While this may not be an everyday thing, I’m going to try to do it as often as I can. Also, as a note for my friends and loved ones: I’m not doing this because of some suicidal urge. I merely want to provide an example of how someone might find their own reasons to live, by providing my own.

Leave a Reply

